DiPaolo Scholarship winner Jordan McLaughlin with Bills Coach Sean McDermott and Bud Carpenter

Olean senior Jordan McLaughlin was the recipient of the 2017 Ilio DiPaolo Scholarship award Monday night at DiPaolo’s restaurant in Blasdell. McLaughlin was 46-3 this past season for the Huskies finishing 3rd in the 220 lb class at the NYSPHSAA Div II wrestling championships in Albany. 

McLaughlin will finish his four years at Olean high school with a 99 average and has been accepted into the US Naval Academy where he will attend at the end of June.

Connor Day of Iroquois was the Gary Castanza Award winner. Connor is a three time Section Six champion and finished 6th this past season at 145 lbs at the NYSPHSAA Div I wrestling championships. Connor will attend Gannon University in the Fall.

Jacob Peru from Falconer won the Destroyer Award winning the 2016 NYSPHSAA Div II 171 lb State title. Peru was injured in December of this past season , but received a scholarship to wrestle at Binghamton College in the Fall. Peru finished  with a 191-41 record.

Matt Cicco of Niagara Wheatfield won the Bill Hein Dedicated Wrestler Award. Cicco is a two Section Six finalist, Section Six champion in 2017 and took 3rd at 182 lbs at the the NYSPHSAA Div I wrestling championships. Cicco will be attending RIT.

Lockport senior Steven Kapuscinski won the Cauliflower Alley Club Award. Kapuscinski is the 2017 Section Six champion at 160 lbs and took 6th at the NYSPHSAA Div I wrestling championships.

Buffalo Bills new head coach Sean McDermott and GM Brandon Beane made appearances at the 22nd annual dinner along with a dozen former Buffalo Bills, media personalities, local dignitaries and friends of the DiPaolo family.

Thus far over one million dollars has been raised and distributed in western New York through the DiPaolo Scholarship fund.

Filed under: High School Wrestling

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,

Readers Comments (0)

Sorry, comments are closed on this post.