Giuseppe Hoose from Southwestern

The Ilio DiPaolo Scholarship is awarded each year to the local high school wrestler who excels on the mat, in the classroom and in the community, Giuseppe Hoose of Southwestern easily met all criteria. Hoose, a senior at Southwestern high school won the coveted scholarship award Monday night, May 21st at the 23rd annual awards dinner held at DiPaolo’s restaurant in Blasdell and will take it to Hofstra University where he will attend in the fall.

Giuseppe’s record over his career at Southwestern is 178-57 record, with a third place finish at the 2018 NYSPHSAA wrestling championships in Albany. Hoose is also a member of the National Honor Society and a Red Cross Blood Drive volunteer and a former Sunday school teacher.

Lancaster’s Joe Andreessen wins Castanza Award

Joe Andreessen from Lancaster won the Gary Castanza Award after finishing as a Section VI Division I champion at 220 and third at the States with a 168-65 career record.

Bryce Rowe of Chautauqua Lake won “The Destroyer Award”, named after legendary pro wrestler Dick “The Destroyer” Beyer. Rowe won the Division II state title at 160 pounds to cap a 183-51 career.

The Bill Hein Dedicated Wrestler Award went to another Div II State champion in Starpoint’s Anthony Robinson. Robinson claimed the 285-pound Division I state championship and finished with a 110-31 career record.

The Cauliflower Alley Club Award went to Randolph’s Matthew Evans who had a 151-39 record in his career and finished fifth at the 2018 NYSPHSAA championships.

Filed under: High School Wrestling

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,

Readers Comments (0)

Sorry, comments are closed on this post.