Carson Manville

Wyoming Seminary Carson Manville wins “Aggregate Pin” trophy.

Powerful Wyoming Seminary prep school from Wilkes Barre Pennsylvania overwhelmed the competition at the 37th annual Niagara Frontier Wrestling Officials Association tournament at NCCC. Wyoming Seminary, ranked fifth in the nation among high school squads, walked away with nine individual champions and a record 384 team points. 134 pound champion Carson Manville won the aggregate pin trophy for the visitors from Pennsylvania.

Niagara Wheatfield’s Warren McDougald won the 147 lb championship defeating Connor Kievman of Wyoming Seminary 7-3 and was awarded the Ilio DiPaolo Most Outstanding Wrestler award for his effort.

Niagara Wheatfield and Lancaster, ranked number one among Section Six Div I teams, finished tied for second with 136.5 points.  

North Tonawanda’s Tyler Bartolomei, who won the 106-pound title by pinning Springville’s Mike Evans in 1:07 and Grand Island 287 lb wrestler Jaquan Johnson won by pinning Amherst’s Calik Kennedy in the championship match.

Starpoint senior Griffin Mack earned the Overachievement Award for placing fourth despite not being seeded for the tournament.

Other top local finishers are Justin McDougald, fourth at 126 pounds. Adam Daghestani of Grand Island took second at 152 pounds, N-W’s Josh Thibeault fourth at 152, Lockport’s Steven Daskavitz fourth at 182, Lancaster’s Joe Andreessen second at 195 and Newfane’s Jayden Heers fourth at 220. 

Top ten team finishers after Wyoming Seminary, Wheatfield and Lancaster were Grand Island, Falconer, Newfane, Grove City, Jamestown, Maple Grove, and Athens.

Filed under: High School Wrestling, Local Headlines

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,

Readers Comments (0)

Sorry, comments are closed on this post.