Newfane high school won the inaugural Linda C. Knuutila wrestling tournament Saturday, December 21st at Niagara County Community College. Team scoring was close throughout the two-day tournament with Newfane edging out Iroquois 196 to 191.5 for the championship and Niagara Wheatfield taking 3rd with 186.5 points. The top ten teams were Newfane, Iroquois, Niagara Wheatfield, Lancaster, Frontier, Grand Island, Williamsville North, Hamburg, Niagara Falls and Eden.

Newfane’s Andy Lucinski wins 113 lb championship

Newfane’s lone winner was Andrew Lucinski at 113 lbs, taking the title with a 15-1 decision over Michael Schiffhauer of Iroquois. Iroquois’s individual champion was Peter Gaglio at 106 lbs, defeating Brendan Dellinger of Will North 11-9.

Justin McDougald
Niagara Wheatfields’s Justin McDougald wins 145lb title

Niagara Wheatfield had two winners with Justin McDougald defeating Aiden Rabideau of Clarence 5-3 and Collin Coughenour defeating Jack Randle of Grand Island 15-12.

Lancaster had a pair of winners in Ryan Stencel at 182 lbs and Codie Scotland at 195 lbs and Williamsville North had a pair in Cameron Catrabone at 120 lbs and Michael Catanzaro at 132 lbs.

Willie McDougald of Niagara Falls won the 152 lb championship with a 6-1 victory over Dylan Collins of Hamburg and set a Niagara Falls school record for victories over the weekend as well.

Ryan Bitka won the 285 lb title for Amherst and was named the MVP of the tournament.

Championship Final (1st)

 99 Travis Browning (Frontier) > Aidan Gillings (Newfane) decision 5-4
106 Peter Gaglio (Iroquois) > Brendan Dellinger (WN) decision 11-9
113 Andrew Lucinski (Newfane) > Michael Schiffhauer (Iroquois) major decision 15-1
120 Cameron Catrabone (WN) > Donovan Bukaczeski (Iroquois) decision 8-1
126 Collin Coughenour (NW) > Jack Randle (GI) decision 15-12
132 Michael Catanzaro (WN) > Ryan Sweeney (Iroquois) decision 6-4
138 Ryan Forrest (Hamburg) > Nik Voelker (Newfane) decision 6-0
145 Justin McDougald (NW) > Aiden Rabideau (Clarence) decision 5-3
152 Willie McDougald (NF) > Dylan Collins (Hamburg) decision 6-1
160 Giovanni Schifano (Eden) > Tyler Barry (Iroquois) decision 1-0
170 Adam Daghestani (GI) > Joseph Dixon (Canisius) decision 9-2
182 Ryan Stencel (Lancaster) > Ryan Current (Iroquois) major decision 14-0
195 Codie Scotland (Lancaster) > Konrad Kryszton (Frontier) decision 3-2
220 Blake Bielec (GI) > Mario Fidanza (Lyndonville) default 0:25
285 Ryan Bitka (Amherst) > Jaden Heers (Newfane) fall 5:49

Consolation Final (3rd)

 99 Caden Barrientos (LP) > Gavin Ciarfella (BRH) SV 3-1 (1OT)
106 Nolan Skowronski (EA (+Holland)) > Amarfio Reynolds (NF) decision 3-0
113 Myles Gronowski (Lancaster) > Te’Shaun Mathews (NW) decision 2-0
120 Luke Brydges (Canisius) > Kaleb Schurkus (Lancaster) fall 2:12
126 Carson Alberti (Depew (+Alden)) > Jake Jozwiak (Iroquois) decision 10-4
132 Matt Ash (SML) > Zach Ash (SML) decision 8-1
138 Julian Martin (LS) > Trevor Sheehan (Lancaster) decision 3-2
145 Ryan Nugent (Newfane) > Devin Collins (Hamburg) decision 6-4
152 Dagon Bryant (Southwestern) > Phil Stevenson (Newfane) decision 3-1
160 Brian Bielec (GI) > Jack Feltz (Clarence) decision 7-1
170 Jason Frazer (Tonawanda) > Jacob Thibeault (NW) major decision 13-1
182 Mike Pataky (OP) > Dylan Wojciechowski (Frontier) decision 6-5
195 Braydon Vandenberg (Canisius) > Carl Ealy (NF) fall 2:05
220 Dontae Hoose (Southwestern) > John Haberman (Hamburg) decision 1-0
285 Christopher Kinney (NT) > Tyree Orange (Amherst) decision 2-1

Filed under: High School Wrestling

Tagged with: ,

Readers Comments (0)

Sorry, comments are closed on this post.