Friday, December 13, 2013

ORCHARD PARK, NY – The Buffalo Bills today announced that LB Arthur Moats was selected as the team’s Ed Block Courage Award winner.

The Ed Block Courage Award is presented to the Buffalo Bills player who exemplifies a commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. The recipient symbolizes professionalism, great strength, dedication and serves as a community role model for others.

Moats will take part in the 36th annual national Ed Block Courage Awards Foundation ceremony on March 17, 2014 at Martin’s West in Baltimore, MD and he will be honored with the 31 other award representatives from each NFL team. 

After recovering from sports hernia surgery in the 2013 offseason, Moats has started a career-best 12 games in 2013 as an inside linebacker.  He has established career highs in tackles (48) – including posting a career-best eight tackles in Buffalo’s 24-23 victory over Carolina in week two.  He’s been a mainstay on the Bills’ special teams units with six tackles on the season. 

Along with his standout play on the field, Moats has also left a lasting impact with his work in the Buffalo community.  Moats was named the 2013 Buffalo Bills United Way Worldwide spokesman where he was tasked with spreading the United Way’s mission and encouraging people to donate their time to their local communities.  During the holiday season, Moats hosts select Buffalo students on a holiday shopping spree at a local department store, providing each student with a $200 gift card.  In addition to his work with the United Way, Moats is a lead spokesman for the Bills’ Play 60 initiative.   

In his hometown of Portsmouth, Va., Moats donated $5,000 to his high school’s football program through the NFL Foundation’s Matching Grant, as well as an additional $2,500 to the school’s art program, helping blend together two of his greatest passions.

The award is named for Ed Block, the former Head Athletic Trainer of the Baltimore Colts from 1954 through 1977 and continued to serve the team until his death in 1983. Block, a WWII veteran, cared for his player’s physical health as well as for the well-being of countless children. The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation promotes the prevention of child abuse by raising awareness of the epidemic and assisting agencies who provide for the care and treatment of abused children in communities throughout the National Football League (NFL). That objective is coupled with the Foundation’s commitment to celebrating players of inspiration in the NFL.

A list of Buffalo Bills Ed Block Courage Award past winners is listed below:

1985 –   Jerry Butler 2000 – Joe   Panos
1986 –   Lucius Sanford 2001 –   Jerry Ostroski
1987 –   Robb Riddick 2002 –   Tony Driver
1988 – Tim   Vogler 2003 – Pat   Williams
1989 –   Steve Tasker 2004 –   Travis Henry
1990 –   Darryl Talley 2005 –   Mark Campbell
1991 –   Mark Kelso 2006 –   Takeo Spikes
1992 –   Bruce Smith 2007 –   Kevin Everett
1993 –   John Davis 2008 –   Chris Kelsay
1994 –   Kent Hull 2009 –   James Hardy
1995 – Jim   Kelly 2010 –   Jairus Byrd
1996 –   Mark Maddox 2011 –   Andra Davis
1997 –   Henry Jones 2012 –   Kyle Williams
1998 –   John Holecek 2013 –   Arthur Moats
1999 –   Sean Moran



Filed under: Buffalo Bills

Tagged with: ,

Readers Comments (0)

Sorry, comments are closed on this post.