PHILADELPHIA — Bill Bradshaw, who announced his retirement as Director of Intercollegiate Athletics at Temple University one year ago was one of five former Athletic Directors inducted into the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Hall of Fame on June 10th.
Besides Bradshaw, the 2014 NACDA Hall of Fame Class included: Kathleen Brasfield, Angelo State University; Gene DeFilippo, Boston College; Bob Myers, Solano Community College; and Jim Livengood, Arizona. In addition, NACDA will add three of its own into the Hall of Fame this year: NACDA Executive Director Emeritus Mike Cleary, NACDA accountant John Frain, and former NACDA attorney George Durkin, all of whom played a significant role in NACDA’s early and formative years as an association.
The inductees received their awards on Tuesday, June 10 at NACDA’s 49th Annual Convention at the Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup Awards Luncheon, located at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Fla.
“”Being inducted into the NACDA Hall of Fame, for me, elicits emotions of gratitude, appreciation, and special memories,” said Bradshaw.  “Gratitude to the three great universities – La Salle, DePaul and Temple – for giving me the opportunity to serve them as an athletic director during the past 36 years, and appreciation to those student-athletes, coaches and staff whose performances defined our success.”
“I want to congratulate Bill Bradshaw on this well-deserved honor,” said current Temple Vice President and Director of Athletics Kevin Clark.  “He has had a Hall of Fame career serving as an Athletic Director for five decades, including 11 years right here at Temple.  His service to NACDA has been at the highest level, especially during his tenure as President of the organization in 2001-02.  He is truly deserving of this honor.”
Named one of five finalists for the Sports Business Journal’s coveted Athletic Director of the Year award in 2012, Bradshaw had many accomplishments during his time as Temple’s top athletic administrator.  He was responsible for successfully negotiating the Owls into two conferences, first the Mid-American Conference for football and most recently the American Athletic Conference.
A past president of the National Association of College Directors of Athletics (2001-02), he had overseen the construction of a new state-of-the-art basketball practice facility at Pearson-McGonigle Hall.  Also during his tenure Edberg-Olson Hall, football’s practice facility and Geasey Field, the home of field hockey and lacrosse, had undergone renovations, making those facilities among the best in the country.
Bradshaw, who was named the 2011 Under Armour FBS Director of Athletics of the Year, also had a knack for luring talented coaches to Temple as evidenced by his hiring of Al Golden, Steve Addazio and Matt Rhule to help the Football program garner respect around the country.  His choice of Fran Dunphy to replace Hall of Fame coach John Chaney solidified Temple’s status as one of the top men’s basketball programs in the nation while his tabbing of Tonya Cardoza to replace Hall of Fame coach Dawn Staley has kept the Owls women’s basketball programs among the best in the East.
Off the field, Bradshaw pushed for his department to excel in both the classroom and the community. The “Breakfast of Champions” at Temple is a yearly event honoring those athletes with a G.P.A. above a 3.0, as well as those who have distinguished themselves in the Temple Teammates Award, given to student-athletes who have demonstrated leadership qualities in the area of community service, inspiring others to engage in similar selfless civic endeavors for the purpose of improving the quality of life for those in the local community.
Besides his 11 year tenure at Temple (2002-2013), Bradshaw spent 16 years as Director of Athletics at DePaul University in Chicago and nine years in the same position at his alma mater, La Salle University (‘69).

Filed under: Local Headlines

Tagged with: , , ,

Readers Comments (0)

Sorry, comments are closed on this post.