Niagara Wheatfield high school revived it’s Athletic Hall of Fame after being dormant for the last eight years. Inducted Saturday, November 4th in the NW auditorium were long time baseball and golf coach Joe Kwaitowski, Lee Wallace who dominated both women’s basketball and softball as a coach in the 1980’s and 90’s, Jon MacSwan a three sport athlete who went on to an excellent football career at Alfred, Megan Hathaway who was a dominant Falcon basketball and track star and Andrew “Frank” Davis who was an excellent high school diver and went on to a great lacrosse career at Cornell University.

NW Falcon Wall of Fame

NW Falcon Wall of Fame inductees

The inductions took place as part of a larger ceremony which included the creation of the Niagara Wheatfield “Falcon Wall of Fame”. Inducted into the first class of the “Falcon Wall of Fame” was Charles Clark, N-W’s first superintendent; Ruth Foster, N-W’s first elementary education superintendent; Joseph Rotella, N-W’s first athletic director; Charles Pelcin, a Wheatfield teacher and principal; Fred Barone, a Wheatfield teacher and administrator; Ronald Corsaro, Wheatfield teacher and world-renowned musician; William Ross, a Wheatfield teacher, coach, principal, athletic director and public servant; Rev. Wayne Jagow, a Lutheran minister, Niagara County sheriff and Niagara County clerk; Dr. Tim Carlisle, a University professor and scholar; and Adm. Carl Lahti, a Naval Academy graduate and submariner.

Filed under: High School

Tagged with: , , , , , ,

Readers Comments (0)

Sorry, comments are closed on this post.