ORCHARD PARK, N.Y. – The Buffalo Bills announced today that Bills QB Tyrod Taylor and C Eric Wood have been named to this year’s Pro Bowl.

Taylor has been named to the roster as a replacement for Carolina Panthers QB Cam Newton and Wood has been named in place of Panthers C Ryan Kalil. Newton and Kalil are both unable to participate due to advancing to the Super Bowl.

This will be the both Taylor and Wood’s first Pro Bowl appearances.

In his first season as the team’s starter, Taylor established a new franchise record for rushing yards by a Bills QB in a single season with 568 yards. In addition to providing a dynamic threat on the ground, Tyrod made the Bills a viable threat through the air as his 99.4 passer rating is the second best in team history behind only Jim Kelly in 1990. Taylor is the first Bills quarterback headed to the Pro Bowl since QB Drew Bledsoe in 2002.

Wood started all 16 games for the Bills in 2015 at center and helped pave the way to the Bills having both the top rushing attack in the NFL in yards (2,432) and yards per carry (4.78). The Bills also had three rushers surpass the 500-yard mark (LeSean McCoy-895, Tyrod Taylor-568, Karlos Williams-517) for the first time since 1962. Wood is the first Bills center headed to the Pro Bowl since C Kent Hull in 1990.

Along with RB LeSean McCoy being named to the initial Pro Bowl roster, this marks the first time the Bills have had three Pro Bowlers on the offensive side of the ball since 2002 when four Bills (QB Drew Bledsoe, G Ruben Brown, RB Travis Henry, WR Eric Moulds) were earned Pro Bowl honors.

The 2016 Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, January 31 and televised live on ESPN from Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii. Tickets are on sale through ProBowl.com. Fans may also purchase individual game tickets through Ticketmaster by calling 1-800-745-3000. Tickets start as low as $30.

The 2016 Pro Bowl will continue using the revised game format that debuted with the 2014 Pro Bowl, with NFL Legends captains having final say over Pro Bowl Draft decisions. The Pro Bowl will remain “unconferenced,” with several key playing rules changed. Players have been selected without regard to conference in voting by fans, coaches and players and will be later assigned to Pro Bowl teams via a fantasy football-style draft.

Filed under: Buffalo Bills

Tagged with: , , ,

Readers Comments (0)

Sorry, comments are closed on this post.