ORCHARD PARK, NY – The Pro Football Hall of Fame has announced that former Buffalo Bills General Manager Bill Polian has been elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame today.

On Saturday, August 8, 2015, Polian and the Class of 2015 will be formally enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame during the ceremony held at Fawcett Stadium in Canton, OH. For information on ticket availability visit http://profootballhof.nflonlocation.com/.

Polian joins RB O.J. Simpson (1985), G Billy Shaw (1999), QB Jim Kelly (2001), Coach Marv Levy (2001), G Joe DeLamielleure (2003), WR James Lofton (2003), RB Thurman Thomas (2007), DE Bruce Smith (2009), Owner Ralph Wilson, Jr. (2009), and WR Andre Reed (2014) among Buffalo Bills elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Polian joined the Bills in 1984 as the team’s Director of Pro Personnel.  He was named general manager in December of 1985 and served in that capacity until February of 1993.  In his first offseason as general manager, Polian signed quarterback Jim Kelly and center Kent Hull out of the United States Football League.  In the middle of 1986, he picked Marv Levy to replace Hank Bullough as head coach.  In his nine seasons with Buffalo, the team made the playoffs each of the last five seasons.  Polian built a Bills team that accumulated a 58-22 record from 1988 – 1992 and appeared in three consecutive Super Bowls.  He was named the Executive of the Year by the Sporting News in 1988 and 1991.  During his time in Buffalo 13 players drafted or obtained by Polian made 49 Pro Bowl appearances.  In all, Polian brought in five players (Kelly, Lofton, Reed, Smith and Thomas) and one head coach (Levy) who would end up in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.


Filed under: Buffalo Bills

Tagged with: , , ,

Readers Comments (0)

Sorry, comments are closed on this post.