ORCHARD PARK, NY – The Pro Football Hall of Fame has announced that former Buffalo Bills WR Andre Reed has been elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame today.

On Saturday, August 2, 2014, Reed and the Class of 2014 will be formally enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame during the ceremony held at Fawcett Stadium in Canton, OH.

Reed is the second Bills wide receiver to earn Pro Football’s most distinguished honor, joining James Lofton.

Reed also joins RB O.J. Simpson (1985), G Billy Shaw (1999), QB Jim Kelly (2001), Coach Marv Levy (2001), G Joe DeLamielleure (2003), Lofton (2003), RB Thurman Thomas (2007), DE Bruce Smith (2009) and Owner Ralph Wilson, Jr. (2009) among Buffalo Bills elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Reed ended his career as one of the most accomplished WRs ever to play in the NFL.  His 951 career receptions ranked third in NFL history when he retired (now 11th).  He was fourth in NFL history in receiving yards (13,198) and sixth in touchdown receptions (87) when he retired, currently 13th and tied for 12th in the respective categories.  He played 16 seasons in the NFL, the first 15 in Buffalo.  He and Bruce Smith rank as the franchise’s all-time leaders in years of service with 15 seasons (both played from 1985-99).  Reed holds the Bills’ career receiving record in receptions (941) and receiving yards (13,095).  He led the Bills in receiving 1986-92, ‘94, ‘96 and ’97.

Filed under: Buffalo Bills

Tagged with: , ,

Readers Comments (0)

Sorry, comments are closed on this post.